Sri Lankan Cricket Board will not take any action on Dinesh Chandimal

After being inducted into the ball tampering on the third day of the second Test against the West Indies, there has been a new update to the Sri Lankan captain suspended for a match. The ICC has decided to suspend them for a match, but the Sri Lankan Cricket Board has decided not to take any action while defending them.

According to the Sri Lanka Board, Dinesh Chandimal has not committed any crime, even if the ICC has punished him but the board will not take any action. According to the report of Dainik Jagran, the board said that Chandimal had not done so intentionally and hence no further punishment would be given to them.

It is important that the Sri Lankan team did not come to the field on the third day of the second Test in St. Lucia and the game was interrupted for 2 hours. Dinesh Chandimal was suspended for a match by charging the ball tampering after the match. They also appealed against this, but it was rejected.

Chandimal also said on the matter that I did not do anything wrong and it was known to my team also that appealed against the ban. He further said that I should not forget also that the ICC has banned and turned down the appeal.

It is notable that after the threat of ball-tampering, the umpires had decided to change the ball and the Sri Lankan team had refused to go to the ground. The umpires then gave the West Indies team five penalty runs after Sri Lankan players came to the ground.

Following this incident, the ICC took a serious note of charge and also charged Sri Lankan management and the captain for acting against the game spirit. This has spoiled the reputation of Sri Lankan cricket and the team.